Self Awareness Part I: What is it?????

An incredible thing appeared to me during this amazing journey, increased self awareness. This is not to say that I was unaware before I teamed up with Maureen for this adventure but I certainly did not have the same insight to answer the questions “Who am I?” and “What is my purpose in life?”  To answer these questions we might ask ourselves the following-What is self awareness? How do we find self awareness?  How can we benefit from increased self awareness? I know this is a lot to think about, but I’ll ask you to trust me on this.

What is Self Awareness?

Self Awareness is to understand why you feel the way you feel and why you do the things you do. You actually have to look within yourself to clarify your emotional actions and reactions. It is taking the time to sit and ask yourself some very pointed questions about your life; past, present and future. You must be honest and reflect on your feelings about your childhood, family, friends, co-workers, job, relationships, fears, angers, frustrations, and desires (to name just a few).

How do we find Self Awareness?

There are many to explore self awareness.  Here are a few ideas of where to start. You might begin by asking yourself: Am I happy? Am I sad? Am I lonely? What is my biggest fear?

Then you can then think about your top five: Happiest Moments, Accomplishments, Strengths, and Weaknesses. (Feel free to add and edit)  I think you are getting the idea, put them all together maybe in a journal or grab a piece of scrap paper, just get writing. When you have completed that assignment (yes this is homework)  1. Quiet the Mind, 2. Stop All the Action, and 3. Reflect on this information.

How can we benefit from increased Self Awareness?

Once you have accomplished these tasks you will also have a better sense of who you are

and you might think about some things to modify. You could also take it one step further and ask “What is the purpose of (my) life?” I feel this is both a spiritual and philosophical question, which I have not yet explored,

But now that I have mentioned spiritual you might wonder if the journey to self awareness is a spiritual experience and if it will be life changing. The answer to both can be yes! For me it was more about the discovery of my “True Self” and my belief is that we each need to make an individual choice about how best to approach our personal journey to self awareness and self acceptance.

The truth is that often we avoid asking these questions because we are apprehensive about what we will uncover. We should not fear this because once we face our challenges we are able to transform. Into what you ask? The possibilities are endless…you decide!

Leave a Reply

