Wrapping up our posts of the History of Yoga

The Yoga Sutras, written by Sage Patanjali, around 200 CE, include many of the same spiritual practices of the Upanishads (Pranayama, Pratyahara, Dhyana, Dharana, Samadhi) and the Bhagavad Gita (knowledge, devotion, action) as well as Buddhism (5 Rules – avoid killing, stealing, lying improper sex conduct and intoxicants and Eight Fold Path – living a life of the right intention, speech, actions, livelihood, efforts, mindfulness and concentration).

We’ve been weaving in the Yoga Sutras with all the postings and will continue to do that.  Still to come – the remaining Yamas that we have not written about (Brahmacharya, Aparigraha) and the NiYamas (Saucha, Samtosa, Tapas, Svadhyaya and Isvara Pranidhana).  The English translation for these are below in a post Sharon wrote on October 1st.

Lots of news coming for the New Year and our anniversary in February.

Stay Tuned …. and thanks for taking the journey with us.

Love, Sharon & Maureen


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s